Electric Beauty Sets Out To Bring Joy And Balance To Debut Album

Minneapolis-based Rock band Electric Beauty will be releasing their debut self-titled album on October 21st, 2022. The group is comprised of three longtime friends who played music together on and off for years in Minneapolis before deciding to take things into a new phase and record. Charlie Pine (Husker Du), Jim Tollefsrud (NNB, Safety Last and The Front Porch Swinging Liquor Pigs), and Wayne Hasti (NNB, The Ben Day Dots) make up the trio.

The album was produced by the band and recorded at Gold Sky Studio in Minneapolis. It was engineered by Jim Tollefsrud and mixed by Tom Herbers with Charlie Pine. It was mastered by Greg Reierson at Rare Form Mastering.

Charlie Pine comments on songwriting:

My songs aren’t meant to be True Confessions, nor should they be viewed as personal diary entries. I used to write songs on and off years ago. But I wasn’t happy with most of them. It wasn’t until I started writing as an observer vs. in the first person that I became comfortable as a lyricist.

He adds:

I think the entire album has a certain logic and flow to it. The sequencing just works. I can’t imagine hearing it differently now. I don’t think there’s really anything else I would change about how the songs were performed or recorded.

Electric Beauty sets out to create a sense of “joy and balance,” according to Pine, with a mixture of serious and more “playful” elements, reflecting the fun the band had making the album.

%d bloggers like this: