Mac Wiseman’s 1980 Album ‘Songs That Made The Jukebox Play’ Gets Its First Digital Release

CMH Records (Country. Music. Heritage.) has remastered and rereleased Mac Wiseman’s Songs That Made The Juke Box Play. It is now available for the first time on digital and streaming platforms. This 22-track collection showcases Wiseman supported by an expert backing band including Western swing artist Johnny Gimble on the fiddle and mandolin.

Wiseman first recorded for CMH in 1976 and appeared on a number of original albums during his time with the label. This album, released in 1980 features the Bluegrass artist’s take on 22 classics of Western swing.

A Bluegrass pioneer and a lover of Country, Mac Wiseman devoted his life to music. Born in Crimora, Virginia in 1925, Wiseman first appeared on record in 1946 and didn’t stop until 2015 at the age of 90. On top of being an artist, he was a facilitator of music as a festival promoter, label owner, A&R executive and co-founder of both the Country Music Association and the International Bluegrass Association.

Over the course of his life, he performed regularly with bluegrass pioneers the Osborne Brothers, Bill Monroe, Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs and Eddie Adcock as well as recorded collaborative records with country legends Merle Haggard, John Prine and Doc Watson. 

Track List for Mac Wiseman’s Songs That Made The Juke Box Play:

  1. Bubbles In My Beer
  2. Slipping Around
  3. I Wish I Had Never Seen Sunshine
  4. Home In San Antone
  5. My Mary
  6. No Letter Today
  7. Yesterday’s Girl
  8. Love Letters In The Sand
  9. I Love You Because
  10. Time Changes Everything
  11. Worried Mind
  12. Drivin’ Nails In My Coffin
  13. Waltz Across Texas
  14. It Makes No Difference Now
  15. Divorce Me C.O.D.
  16. Born To Lose
  17. I Wonder How The Old Folks Are At Home
  18. The Wild Side Of Life
  19. Oklahoma Hills
  20. (Remember Me) I’m The One Who Loves You
  21. Live And Let Live
  22. One Has My Name, The Other Has My Heart
%d bloggers like this: