Grandaddy Collect Indie Rock Rarities As “Sumday: Excess Baggage”

[Cover photo credit to Chugrad McAndrews]

Modesto, California-based Indie-Rock group Grandaddy have announced a digital release of Sumday: Excess Baggage, a thirteen-track collection of rarities and b-sides from their Sumday-era, set for release on August 25th, 2023 on Dangerbird Records. The band has also unveiled lead single “The Town where I’m Livin Now” alongside an official video.

Grandaddy leader Jason Lytle says of the track:

I like making songs like this. Lots of bleak but sweet visuals. Everyday stuff available for everyone to see…but some of us just end up with the twisted work of documenting it.

In May, Grandaddy also announced Sumday Twunny, a limited edition 4-LP boxed set to be released on September 1, 2023 via Dangerbird Records. The collection includes the remastered original album as well as a complete 4-track demo version titled Sumday: The Cassette Demos, and Sumday: Excess Baggage

Lytle adds:

Revisiting this material and reflecting on those times has been a double edged sword. Bittersweet is an apt word, I suppose. Twenty years after the fact, I’m just grateful to be alive and kicking… celebrating that moment in time by re-releasing the original album, B sides and extras of that era, and even some raw cassette demos of the album itself a sort of sketchbook/rough draft of the LP in cassette form. So be it then. ‘On the verge of greatness, underrated, overlooked, unsung.’ This is what all of that sounds like.  I’ll take it.

Grandaddy formed in 1992 and have released five official LPs, most recently 2017’s Last Place. Grandaddy members include Jason Lytle, Aaron Burtch, Jim Fairchild, Tim Dryden, and the late Kevin Garcia, who passed away in 2017.

%d bloggers like this: