No Hay Banda’s Debut Album Features Experimental Chamber Music

Launched in 2016 by musicians Daniel Áñez, Noam Bierstone, and Geneviève Liboiron, Montréal’s No Hay Banda creates experimental chamber music. The collective functions as an ensemble, a presenter, a record label, and a commissioner of new works. Their double-disc debut album, I had a dream about this place is out now.

Since their inception, they’ve worked alongside Gayle Young, Tomomi Adachi, Anne-F Jacques, Jennifer Walshe, Ida Toninato, Navid Navab, Steven Takasugi, Émilie Payeur, alcides lanza, Gabriel Dharmoo, Stefan Maier, Lester St. Louis, and Vinko Globokar. During the height of the pandemic, they presented an online homage to Fluxus for the Suoni Per Il Popolo festival.

Their debut album brings together four long-form works for chamber ensemble and electronics by four different Canadian composers.


Anthony Tan — “An Overall Augmented Sense of Well-being
Sabrina Schroeder — “Rubber Houses
Andrea Young — “A Moment or Two of Panic
Mauricio Pauly — “The Difference is the Buildings Between Us