The Next Waltz’s Luck Ranch Performances For Willie Nelson’s 89th Birthday Head To Live Album

As Willie Nelson’s 89th birthday neared in 2022, Luck Presents, the entity creating Nelson’s Luck Reunion events, and Bruce Robison, the singer-songwriter, Producer and force behind the all-analog record label The Next Waltz, wanted to celebrate Nelson’s influence and impact with a party.

On May 1, 2022, Sheryl Crow, Nathaniel Rateliff, Steve Earle, Robert Earl Keen, Margo Price, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Vincent Neil Emerson, Shinyribs, Emily Gimble and Robison performed for Nelson with songs drawn from the canon of American music. Fortunately, Robison recorded the performances. The result, One Night in Texas: The Next Waltz’s Tribute to the Red Headed Stranger, will be released on April 28, 2023, the day before Willie Nelson turns 90.

Robinson explains:

To put together a night of Willie Nelson music was a dream for me. His music has always been a part of my life, guiding me like the North Star. It’s the soundtrack to living in Texas. The night just felt like some kind of celebration of life. When it was coming together, I knew I had to try to record it. When I heard the tape, it sounded like magic to me. It sounded like 1973. It is definitely the sound of people having fun.

One Night in Texas: The Next Waltz’s Tribute to the Red Headed Stranger will be available for pre-order on Feb. 17th, 2023 at and all digital music platforms.

Track listing

“Bloody Mary Morning” – Vincent Neil Emerson

“Shotgun Willie” – Margo Price

“Pick Up The Tempo” – Robert Earl Keen

“I Gotta Get Drunk” – Shinyribs

“Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain” – Nathaniel Rateliff

“Pancho and Lefty” – Steve Earle

“Down Yonder” – Emily Gimble

“Night Life” – Sheryl Crow

“Last Thing I Needed First Thing This Morning”  Bruce Robison

 “Whiskey River” – Ray Wylie Hubbard

 “My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys” – Shinyribs

 “Crazy” – Nathaniel Rateliff

 “(How Will I Know) I’m Falling In Love Again” – Bruce Robison

 “The Party’s Over” – Phosphorescent

More about The Next Waltz:

Launched in 2016 by singer, songwriter and producer Bruce Robison, The Next Waltz is a label, a recording studio, a musical community, a management company and a mindset — one shared by those who appreciate artistic integrity and value ambitious and authentic music. At the Bunker, his all-analog studio in Lockhart, Texas, Robison gathers revered veterans and talented newcomers to tell stories, make music “with no digital shenanigans” and weave the occasional dream or scheme; so far, The Next Waltz has released over 20 singles and four compilations (featuring Turnpike Troubadours, Carrie Rodriguez, Carson McHone, Jerry Jeff Walker, Charley Crockett, Shakey Graves, David Ramirez, Vandoliers, Brennen Leigh and many others) and albums by Robison, Kelly Willis, the Panhandlers and Tony Kamel.

%d bloggers like this: