LITA’s Japanese City Pop Series Returns With ‘Pacific Breeze 3’ Highlighting Female Artists

[Cover photo of Naomi Akimoto]

Archival reissue label Light in the Attic (LITA) has announced the latest chapter in its Japanese City Pop series, Pacific Breeze, which delivers a blend of AOR, R&B, Jazz Fusion, Funk, Boogie, and Disco from the country’s bubble era of the ‘70s and ‘80s. Pacific Breeze 3: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1975-1987 continues the exploration with songs that push the boundaries and offer glimmers of the next waves of music, including Shibuya-kei, Hip-Hop, and Electro.

Curated by Yosuke Kitazawa and Mark “Frosty” McNeill (dublab), and once again featuring the artwork of artist Hiroshi Nagai on its cover, this volume of Pacific Breeze is a “female-forward offering”, spotlighting the voices of women who would become household names in Japan as actresses and Pop idols.

The album includes Techno-Pop classics from Susan, Miharu Koshi, and Chiemi Manabe; Funk from Miho Fujiwara and Naomi Akimoto; and a Reggae jam by Teresa Noda. Pacific Breeze 3 also delivers Jazz fusion by Parachute and Hiroyuki Namba, a synthesizer fantasy from Osamu Shoji, and Pop by Makoto Matsushita and Chu Kosaka.

As with the last two records, the members of Yellow Magic Orchestra continue to have a presence on Pacific Breeze 3, with Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto, and Yukihiro Takahashi taking up producer and musician roles on many of these tracks.

Pacific Breeze 3 will be released February 24th, 2023 on double LP, CD, and cassette. All editions feature newly-remastered audio by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters and liner notes by Yosuke Kitazawa.

A special pressing of Pacific Breeze 3 on “Twilight Sunset Pink” color wax can be found exclusively at the LITA online store, in addition to exclusive bundles and merchandise featuring Hiroshi Nagai’s art, including a 24” x 24” lithograph print,  full-color 30” x 60” beach towel, and double-sided felt slipmat featuring Pacific Breeze 3 cover art and Pacific Breeze logo. Additionally, a variety of exclusive color vinyl will be available at select retailers.


1. Naomi Akimoto – Bewitched (Are You Leaving Soon)

2. Atsuko Nina – Tonkachi

3. Miho Fujiwara – Heartbeat

4. Miharu Koshi – Scandal Night

5. Chu Kosaka – Shirakechimauze

6. Teresa Noda – Tropical Love

7. Makoto Matsushita – Business Man Pt. 1

8. Susan – Ah! Soka

9. Yukako Hayase – Suiyoubi Madeni Shinitaino

10. Parachute – Kowloon Daily

11. Hiroyuki Namba – Tropical Exposition (Who Done It? Version)

12. Pizzicato Five – Boy Meets Girl

13. Mari Iijima – Love Sick

14. 1986 Omega Tribe – Cosmic Love

15. Osamu Shoji – Pub Casablanca

16. Chiemi Manabe – Untotooku

%d bloggers like this: