Daniel Johnston Tribute Compilation ‘I Killed The Monster’ Comes To Vinyl And Cassette

[Cover photo credit to MACIOCE]

Shimmy-Disc has announced the first-time vinyl release of I Killed The Monster due out February 10th, 2023, an 11-track compilation of songs written by Daniel Johnston, whose classic LPs 1990 and Artistic Vice were produced by Kramer. They were recorded at the Noise New York recording studio and at Daniel Johnston’s home in West Virginia, and released on Shimmy-Disc in 1990 and 1991, respectively.

The compilation, originally shared as a CD-only release in 2006, features performances of Johnston classics by Indie musicians including: Danielson & Sufjan Stevens, Kimya Dawson, Dot Allison, Mike Watt, Jad Fair & Kramer, Jeffrey Lewis, LUMBEROB, R. Stevie Moore, and more. Kramer produced and mixed most of the songs on the LP, and he himself delivers one of the tracks on this release, “Bloody Rainbow.”

All of the songs included on the compilation were re-mastered by Kramer in 2022, and will be available on vinyl for the very first time, and on a limited edition cassette, which will also feature an additional 10 tracks (for a total of 21), from the original 2006 CD-only release.

Ahead of the LP’s release, Shimmy-Disc has shared Danielson & Sufjan Stevens‘ rendition of “Worried Shoes,” alongside a brand new video created by Kramer.

I Killed The Monster: The Songs of Daniel Johnston – TRACKLISTING:

Disc 1, Vinyl Version & Cassette Side A

01. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Grievances (Dot Allison)
02. Worried Shoes (Danielson & Sufjan Stevens)
03. Bloody Rainbow (Kramer)
04. Cathy Cline (R. Stevie Moore)
05. Follow That Dream (Kimya Dawson)
06. Honey I Sure Miss You (Lumberob)
07. True Love Will Find You In The End (Jad Fair & Kramer)
08. Blue Skies Will Haunt You From Now On (The Electric Ghosts)
09. The Adventures of God as A Young Boy (Jeffrey Lewis)
10. Walking the Cow (Mike Watt)
11. It’s Over (Tess)

Disc 2, Vinyl “Digital” Bonus Tracks & Cassette Side B

01. Held The Hand (Joy Zipper)
02. Tears Stupid Tears (Rope, Inc.)
03. Going Down (Chris Hadford)
04. Rowboat (Mad Francis)
05. Mind Contorted (Major Matt Mason)
06. Now (Toby Goodshank)
07. Go Fast And Go Some More (The Dick Panthers)
08. Foxy Girl (The Sutcliffe’s)
09. Cosmic Kid (Kickstand)
10. Love Wheel (Emily Zuzik)

%d bloggers like this: