Jim Croce’s ‘You Don’t Mess Around With Jim’ Arrives For A 50th Anniversary Pressing In Multiple Formats

[Cover photo credit to Paul Wilson]

2022 marks 50 years since Jim Croce released his breakout album, You Don’t Mess Around With Jim.  BMG is celebrating the anniversary with three limited edition pressings on vinyl, CD, and cassette, with matching alternate gold-bordered cover artwork. It arrives this Friday, November 25th, 2022.

Produced by Terry Cashman and Tommy West, and featuring the guitar interplay of Croce and Maury Muehleisen, You Don’t Mess Around With Jim spent 93 weeks on the charts when it was released. Over the last 50 years, the tracks “You Don’t Mess Around With Jim,” “Operator (That’s Not the Way It Feels),” “Time In a Bottle,” and “Photographs and Memories” have become evergreens of contemporary Folk.

The album posthumously went to Number 1 on the Billboard 200 in 1974 and has been certified Gold. This release leads into further celebrations in 2023, as BMG and the Croce estate commemorate 50 years since his untimely passing along with what would have been his 80th birthday. 

Vinyl and Cassette Tracklisting
Side A

A1. You Don’t Mess Around With Jim
A2. Tomorrow’s Gonna Be A Brighter Day
A3. New York’s Not My Home
A4. Hard Time Losin’ Man
A5. Photographs And Memories
A6. Walkin’ Back To Georgia
Side B
B1. Operator (That’s Not The Way It Feels)
B2. Time In A Bottle
B3. Rapid Roy (The Stock Car Boy)
B4. Box #10
B5. A Long Time Ago
B6. Hey Tomorrow
%d bloggers like this: