Calm Collapse Combines Experience On Multiple Projects For ‘Mirrored Nature’

Seattle’s Calm Collapse is a team up that features Doug Lorig (Roadside Monument), Rob Smith (Traindodge, Museum of Light), and Jon Pease (Medicine Bows). They recently released new single “Welfare Tour” off the forthcoming album Mirrored Nature, out November 25th, 2022 via Spartan Records. Mirrored Nature was recorded by Matt Bayles (Botch, Mastodon, Minus The Bear).

Spartan comments on the band:

Spartan Records proudly presents a collective sum of historic parts. Roadside Monument. Traindodge. Raft of Dead Monkeys. The creative forces that shaped so many formative and fan-adored records have rematerialized and reassembled as Calm Collapse, a heavy and melodic trio taking cues from a perfect storm of prior projects but decidedly exploring a new and dedicated direction.

Even after a number of releases, tours, and iterations, Calm Collapse represents another evolution for the trio, and a chance to “reassemble with a new perspective”.

Lorig comments on the upcoming album:

It has been my passion since I was a little kid to create music, and that passion still lives on to this day as I’ve gotten older. I still love the process of creating, recording, and playing music live. Part of it also has been that I feel I can always one-up the last project that I was in. [Mirrored Nature] is probably my proudest achievement — but I’m definitely looking forward to trying to get even better on the next record.

%d bloggers like this: