Third Man Records Heads ‘Southeast Of Saturn’ A Second Time For 90s Midwestern Space-Rock

Third Man Records has announced Southeast Of Saturn Vol. 2, to be released December 2, 2022. The compilation is a follow-up to 2020’s Southeast of Saturn, a collection of music from Detroit’s Space-Rock/shoegaze/dream pop scene of the ‘90s. The second volume expands upon Vol. 1 by including groups from throughout the Midwest.

Highlighting groups spanning Michigan, Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, and Minnesota, Vol. 2 reinforces the Midwest’s status as a breeding ground for the Space-Rock and Shoegaze subgenres, which more famously burgeoned in the UK. Colfax Abbey’s “Feel” has been released as a preview.

Exclusive limited-edition copies of Southeast Of Saturn Vol. 2 on Full Moon & Great Lake colored vinyl will be available in select independent record stores across the US and in UK/EU, as well as at Third Man Records’ Nashville and Detroit storefronts.

Once again, there are no big names or crossover artists on Southeast Of Saturn Vol. 2. However, this highlights acts of the 90’s such as Star Phase 23 and Sidereal for a deep dive into subgenres.


1. Colfax Abbey – “Feel”

2. Star Phase 23 – “How To Be A+”

3. Monaural – “Rhodes”

4. Grimble Grumble – “Odyssey and Oracle”

5. Sidereal – “Barrette”

6.  Fauna – “To Ecstasy”

7. Shapeshifter – “Low Profile”

8. The Sunflower Conspiracy – “Belle Chase”

9. Catherine – “It’s No Lie”

10. 27 Various – “Turn On and On”

11. Kiln – “Supersonic Kid”

12. Veronica Lake – “Sleepyhouse”

13. Shallow – “King of the Wide Eyed Girls”

14. Ousia – “Pure Surface Theory”

15. Au Revoir Borealis – “Heavens Downward”

16. Novasonic Down Hyperspace – “Abducted to Venus”

17. Xebec – “Impulse Red”

18. Sabine – “Painting Portraits”