The Band Suicide Gets A Career-Spanning Collection In Multiple Formats

[Cover photo credit to Adrian Boot]

The band Suicide, comprised of Alan Vega and Martin Rev, has been celebrated by a first official collection, Surrender, recently released by Mute / BMG. With sleeve notes by longtime fan and friend of the band, Henry Rollins, the 16-track album features previously unheard material and is available on blood red double vinyl with an embossed, mirror-boarded gatefold sleeve, CD with embossed outer sleeve, and digitally.

A previously unreleased version of “Frankie Teardrop”, has also been made public, with alternative lyrics, as well as an accompanying short film directed by Douglas Hart (My Bloody Valentine, Primal Scream, The Jesus & Mary Chain).

Surrender includes tracks from the group’s debut album Suicide (1977), through to their final studio album release, American Supreme (2002). As Rollins explains:

This gathering of songs is not a “best of” nor is it a “definitive” all-you-need-to-know compilation. It is an introduction that will hopefully compel you to explore the albums.

The tracklisting, which has been collated by Martin Rev, Liz Lamere (Alan Vega’s collaborator and wife) and Henry Rollins, includes two unheard tracks: “Girl (Unreleased Version)” and “Frankie Teardrop (First Version)”, alongside classic tracks, all fully remastered by Denis Blackham at Skye Mastering, who previously remastered the Art of the Album reissue of their debut album. The album artwork’s concept and design, presented on the vinyl as an embossed, mirror-boarded gatefold sleeve, is by Michael Handis and Jared Artaud.

Suicide formed in the early 70s, reemerging in 1976 at the heart of the New York Punk scene. Artists and musicians they went on to inspire include New Order, Depeche Mode, Bruce Springsteen, Moby, Soft Cell, The Jesus & Mary Chain, Primal Scream and Nick Cave. The band continued releasing and performing for 40 years, until 2015’s Punk Mass at the Barbican in London and Alan Vega’s passing in July 2016.

A1. Dominic Christ (2022 – Remaster)
A2. Diamonds, Fur Coat, Champagne ​(2022 – Remaster)
A3. Harlem (2022 – Remaster)
A4. Rocket USA (2022 – Remaster)
B1. Cheree (2022 – Remaster)
B2. Dream Baby Dream (2022 – Remaster)
B3. Touch Me (2022 – Remaster)
B4. Ghost Rider (2022 – Remaster)
B5. Mr. Ray (2022 – Remaster)​​
C1. Surrender (2022 – Remaster)
C2. Why Be Blue? (2022 – Remaster)
C3. Wrong Decisions (2022 – Remaster)
C4. Dachau, Disney, Disco (2022 – Remaster)​​
D1. Radiation (2022 – Remaster)
D2. Girl (Unreleased Version) (2022 – Remaster)^
D3. Frankie Teardrop (First Version) (2022 – Remaster)*

1. Dominic Christ (2022 – Remaster)
2. Diamonds, Fur Coat, Champagne (2022 – Remaster)
3. Harlem (2022 – Remaster)
4. Rocket USA (2022 – Remaster)
5. Cheree (2022 – Remaster)
6. Dream Baby Dream (2022 – Remaster)
7. Touch Me (2022 – Remaster)
8. Ghost Rider (2022 – Remaster)
9. Mr. Ray (2022 – Remaster)​​
10. Surrender (2022 – Remaster)
11. Why Be Blue? (2022 – Remaster)
12. Wrong Decisions (2022 – Remaster)
13. Dachau, Disney, Disco (2022 – Remaster)​​
14. Radiation (2022 – Remaster)
15. Frankie Teardrop (First Version) (2022 – Remaster)*
^Previously unreleased, available on the vinyl and digital release
*Previously unreleased

%d bloggers like this: