Fatlip & Blu Drop Have Got Even More Of Something “Good For The Soul”

Hip Hop artists and Los Angeles emcees Fatlip (The Pharcyde) and Blu (Blu & Exile), have engaged in making a collaborative LP, Live From the End of the World Vol. 1, (Demos), out April 1st via Los Angeles/Tokyo-based label Guilty By Association (GBA). Having already teased two singles, the Madlib-produced, “Gangsta Rap“, and “Good For The Soul,” featuring Hemlock Ernst, (Future Islands’ Samuel T. Herring), and and Produced by GBA’s founder Christopher Shaw, they now shared a new, extended version of “Good For The Soul” adding a fresh verse from Ras Kass and a pair of remixes by Nottz & STLNDRMS.

The album was executively Produced by Shaw, having first met Fatlip backstage at Coachella where he was a backup dancer for Spike Jonze’s little brother, Sam Spiegel. Following an impromptu jam session with musicians from the music house Shaw was a part of, and a lot of talking, patience, and sessions with Fatlip (who’d declared, “No more rapping”) “Good For The Soul” emerged. It only approached its final form after Shaw brought in Blu.

Live From the End of the World Vol. 1, (Demos) then, offers a chance for fans to hear rare new material from Fatlip, as he and Blu surround themselves with Hip Hop artists Knxwledge, Madlib, Del the Funky Homosapien, Gift of Gab, Chali 2na, Exile, Slimkid3 and more. 

“Good For The Soul” Remixes Cover Art by Harold Anton

Shaw has another personal connection to the album in that the art used across the project comes from a series of paintings by Harold Anton (1905-1979), a pioneering abstract expressionist artist from New York, who also happens to be his grandfather-in-law. Anton championed the idea of art as a way to “escape orthodoxy”.

Live From the End of the World Vol. 1, (Demos) Tracklist
1. The Fronts (prod. by Blu)
2. Good For The Soul ft. Hemlock Ernst & Rass Kass (prod. by GBA)
3. Street Life ft. MC Eiht (prod. by Knxwledge)
4. Gangsta Rap (prod. by Madlib)
5. Hollywood Celebrity ft. Bilal (prod. by Sa-Ra Creative Partners)
6. Live From The End of The World (prod. by GBA)
7. Crumbs ft. Young Hump (prod. by Exile)
8. Ain’t Changed ft. Slimkid Tre (prod. By Mnemonic)
9. Crack Party ft. J Ro, Akil, Money B, Opio, Del The Funky Homosapien (prod. by Blu)
10. Yeah / Lip Outro ft. GBA (prod. by STLNDRMS and Exile)
11. Look To The Sky ft. Self Jupter, Chali 2na, Gift of Gab (prod. by Nottz)

%d bloggers like this: