Foghat Announces 17th Studio Album With Co-Writes From Savoy Brown’s Kim Simmonds

Multi-Platinum Rock band Foghat have announced that they will be releasing their 17th studio album, and their first in seven years, later this year on the band’s label, Foghat Records, which is distributed by Select-O-Hits (part of the Sun Records family). They’ve even revealed the album’s name, Sonic Mojo.

The album’s first single, “Drivin’ On” (co-written by the late Kim Simmonds from Savoy Brown), is now available for pre-save. The album includes three brand new songs written by band, including founding member/drummer Roger Earl, guitarist/engineer/co-producer Bryan Bassett, singer/bassist Rodney O’Quinn, singer/guitarist Scott Holt.

Three other songs were co-written by Kim Simmonds, the man who gave Roger Earl his first break back in 1967 as a member of Savoy Brown. The album arrives on November 10th, 2023.

Sadly, shortly after writing these songs, Kim passed away. The upcoming release sees Foghat tip their hat to great artists that came before them, with songs on the album written by Willie Dixon, B.B. King, and Chuck Berry.

Formed in 1971 when Lonesome Dave Peverett and Roger Earl left the British Blues-Rock band, Savoy Brown, Foghat has earned eight Gold records, one Platinum record, and one double-Platinum record. 

They continue to release new music every few years, and they’ve never stopped touring and recording although there have been several ups and downs and changes over the years. They sadly lost Lonesome Dave Peverett in 2000, Rod Price in 2005, and Craig MacGregor in 2018.

%d bloggers like this: