Lucinda Williams Delivers Triumphant ‘Stories From A Rock ‘N Roll Heart’

Three-time Grammy Award winner Lucinda Williams will release her new album Stories from a Rock n Roll Heart on June 30th, 2023 via Highway 20 Records/Thirty Tigers. 2023 marks Williams’ 70th birthday and the April 25th release her memoir Don’t Tell Anybody The Secrets I Told You.

The last couple years have been challenging for Williams. In 2020, a tornado damaged her new home in Nashville, followed two weeks later by the beginning of the COVID lockdown. Later that November, Williams suffered a stroke that partially impaired some of her motor skills on the left side of her body, forcing her to learn to walk again and taking away her ability to play the guitar.

Stories from a Rock n Roll Heart marks her return to music. The new single “New York Comeback,” written by Williams, Tom Overby and Jesse Malin, with Patti Scialfa and Bruce Springsteen on backing vocals is out now.

Stories from a Rock n Roll Heart was Produced by Williams, Overby and Ray Kennedy, who also engineered. The album includes guest backing vocals by Jeremy Ivey, Jesse Malin, Buddy Miller, Angel Olsen, Margo Price and Tommy Stinson.

On Stories from a Rock N Roll Heart, Williams teamed up with singer/songwriter and dear friend Jessie Malin, who co-wrote three tracks on the album and helped her flush out some of the melodies on guitar during her recovery. Williams also looked to her longtime road manager, Travis Stephens, a veteran guitarist and songwriter, to bring her ideas to life as he co-wrote six songs on the album.

Stories from a Rock n Roll Heart
Track Listing (w/Guests)

1. Let’s Get The Band Back Together
(Backing vocals: Margo Price, Jeremy Ivey, Siobhan Maher Kennedy, Buddy Miller, Sophie Gault)
2. New York Comeback
(BV: Bruce Springsteen & Patti Scialfa)
3. Last Call For The Truth
4. Jukebox
(BV: Angel Olsen)
5. Stolen Moments
6. Rock N Roll Heart
(BV: Bruce Springsteen & Patti Scialfa)
7. This Is Not My Town
(BV: Margo Price)
8. Hum’s Liquor
(BV: Tommy Stinson)
9. Where The Song Will Find Me
10. Never Gonna Fade Away

%d bloggers like this: