The Band YES Will Deliver New Studio Album ‘Mirror To The Sky’ In May

[Cover photo credit to Mike Ainscoe]

The band YES, who are currently made up of Steve Howe, Geoff Downes, Jon Davison, Billy Sherwood and Jay Schellen, have announced their new studio album Mirror to the Sky, which will arrive via InsideOutMusic/Sony Music on May 19th, 2023. They have also shared the album’s first track and video, “Cut From The Stars.”

Steve Howe, YES’ longest serving member, guitarist, and Producer of Mirror in the Sky shares:

This is a very important album for the band. We kept the continuity in the approach we established on The Quest, but we haven’t repeated ourselves. That was the main thing. As Yes did in the seventies from one album to another, we’re growing and moving forward. In later years, Yes often got going but then didn’t do the next thing. This album is demonstrative of us growing and building again.

The album will be available on several formats, all featuring artwork by long-time Yes artist and collaborator Roger Dean. That includes multiple deluxe set options, CD digipaks, gatefold LPs and more.

Blu-ray editions will include the album as Dolby Atmos, 5.1 Surround Sound, Instrumental Versions & Hi-Res Stereo Mixes.

As they were wrapping up The Quest, YES found themselves with song sketches, structures, and ideas that were demanding attention. YES was encouraged by InsideOut boss Thomas Waber to keep going in the studio well before The Quest would be released, and that resulted in Mirror to the Sky.

Howe adds:

When we delivered everything, and they were just getting the vinyl and everything into production for manufacturing, we were still very much in that creative zone. That belief that Thomas had in us really meant a lot.

%d bloggers like this: