23 Of Nick Drake’s Songs Are Reimagined By 32 Artists For ‘The Endless Coloured Ways’ Collection

[Cover photo credit to Polocho]

The Endless Coloured Ways – The Songs Of Nick Drake is a collection of twenty three of singer/songwriter Nick Drake’s best loved songs performed and reimagined by thirty two artists from across the musical spectrum. It will be released on July 7th 2023 via Chrysalis Records. Fontaines D.C.’s version of “Cello Song” has been released as a preview.

The brainchild of Cally Callomon, Manager of the Nick Drake Estate, and Jeremy Lascelles, co-founder of Blue Raincoat Music and CEO of Chrysalis Records, The Endless Coloured Ways features recordings from Fontaines D.C., Let’s Eat Grandma, John Grant, Self Esteem, Emeli Sandé, Guy Garvey, David Gray and many more.

Cally Callomon shares:

Nick Drake was not that concerned with promoting himself as an artist but I think he would have been overjoyed to hear his art revisited and newly promoted by so many vibrant and talented artists. Jeremy and I also felt it crucial that the album should flow, as a cohesive listening experience, as opposed to a gallery of separate exhibits. Whether we have succeeded in these two ambitions, only the listener can tell. We are honoured and so grateful to all our friends, old and new, who took part in the making of this beautiful set.

In the lead up to the release of the album, Chrysalis will issue a series of limited edition, double A sided 7inch singles, featuring a selection of the assembled artists. The series will be completed with a bonus disc consisting of a never previously released recording of Nick Drake singing the Bob Dylan song “Tomorrow Is A long Time.”

The album unfolds across four seasons and the track-listing is as follows:

Season 1:

1) The Wandering Hearts – Voice From A Mountain (prelude)

2) Fontaines DC – ‘Cello Song

3) Camille – Hazey Jane II

4) Mike Lindsay feat. Guy Garvey – Saturday Sun

5) Bombay Bicycle Club and The Staves – Road

6) Let’s Eat Grandma – From The Morning

7) David Gray – Place To Be

Season 2:

8) John Parish and Aldous Harding – Three Hours

9) Stick In The Wheel – Parasite

10) Ben Harper – Time Has Told Me

11) Emeli Sandé – One Of These Things First

12) Karine Polwart and Kris Drever – Northern Sky

13) Craig Armstrong feat. Self Esteem – Black Eyed Dog

Season 3:

1) Bombay Bicycle Club and The Staves – Road (reprise)

2) Nadia Reid – Poor Boy

3) Christian Lee Hutson feat. Elanor Moss – Which Will

4) Skullcrusher and Gia Margaret – Harvest Breed

5) Katherine Priddy – I Think They’re Leaving Me Behind

6) AURORA – Pink Moon

7) Joe Henry and Meshell Ndegeocello – Time Of No Reply

Season 4:

8) Feist – River Man

9) Liz Phair – Free Ride

10) Philip Selway – Fly

11) John Grant – Day Is Done

12) The Wandering Hearts – Voice From A Mountain

%d bloggers like this: