Metal Team-Up The Dark Side Of The Moon Reinterprets Their Favorite Fantasy Worlds

The Dark Side of The Moon is a Metal quartet formed by members of Feuerschwanz, Amaranthe and Ad Infinitum, and their particular penchant is to explore “the adventures of worldwide heroic characters”. They have recently announced their debut album, Metamorphosis, out May 12, 2023 via Napalm Records. Ad Infinitum vocalist Melissa Bonny and Feuerschwanz guitarist Hans Platz feature soundscapes opening onto mystical worlds and reinterpret well-known soundtrack themes as well as write their own songs dedicated to their favorite characters.

Setting off into the universe of Harry Potter, their first single, “Double Trouble / Lumos! (Hedwig’s Theme)” is Metal medley featuring the tune of “Hedwig’s Theme”, cut from the movie theme song featured throughout the entire series whereas “Double Trouble” is taken from the third movie. The song has arrived with a music video and has additional input from violinist Rusanda Panfili, conjuring a mystical and eerie atmosphere.

The band comments on the new single:        

We are happy to finally visit Hogwarts with you and to show you its dark side. When we first talked about transforming “Double Trouble” we were not sure the song would allow us to do it. But strangely, combined with the classical violin and the heavy guitars, the explosive drums, the enchanting harp and Melissa’s mesmerizing voice, the magic happens! We are thrilled to have Rusanda Panfili joining us on this quest. Among other things she is a violin soloist for Hans Zimmer, one of the most famous movie score composers. Together, we created a metal cover of this legendary movie score written by John Williams.

The band adds:

We are excited to finally announce our debut album Metamorphosis! At the time we just had one song (‘Jenny of Oldstones’) and were asked to make a full album, we had to start from scratch a journey which led us from the depth of Moria all the way up to the top of the Misty Mountains. We are beyond proud to also present you three original songs on the album! It goes without saying that we cannot wait to hear your response to what we have been preparing for more than a year. Welcome to the dark side!

1. Legends Never Die
2. The Gates of Time
3. Misty Mountains (feat. Tom S. Englund)
4. Double Trouble / Lumos! (Hedwig’s Theme) (feat. Rusanda Panfili)
5. First Light (feat. Rusanda Panfili)
6. New Horizons (feat. Fabienne Erni)
7. The Wolven Storm (Priscilla’s Song)
8. May It Be (feat. Charlotte Wessels)
9. If I Had a Heart
10. The Hanging Tree
11. Jenny of Oldstones

%d bloggers like this: