Townes Van Zandt’s ‘At My Window’ Arrives On Vinyl For A 35th Anniversary Record Store Day Release

Craft Recordings have recently unveiled their offerings for Black Friday Record Store Day, and among the reveals is a sky blue vinyl issue for Townes Van Zandt’s At My Window. Van Zandt’s influence as a songwriter has only increased over time after getting its start in the 70s.

The Texas-born artist blended Blues, Country, and Folk and added very direct lyrics and storytelling. He gained fans among fellow songwriters including Willie Nelson, Steve Earle, Bob Dylan, and Emmylou Harris,many of whom recorded their own renditions of his songs.

Van Zandt (1944–1997) battled demons throughout his life, but in the mid-’80s, the artist had a stable family life with his wife and young son. In March 1987, nine years after the release of his previous album, Flyin’ Shoes, Van Zandt returned to the studio and worked with producers Jack Clement and Jim Rooney as well as many great Nashville musicians like Mark O’Connor (fiddle, mandolin), Joey Miskulin (accordion), and Willie Nelson’s harmonica player, Mickey Raphael. They recorded a collection of songs about love and heartbreak, including “Snowin’ on Raton,” Buckskin Stallion Blues, “Ain’t Leavin’ Your Love, and the title track.

The album, which marked Van Zandt’s only release of the ’80s, was broadly acclaimed. This 35th anniversary edition of At My Window has been newly remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio and pressed on Sky Blue vinyl.


Side A:

1.    Snowin’ On Raton

2.    Blue Wind Blew

3.    At My Window

4.    For The Sake Of The Song

5.    Ain’t Leavin’ Your Love

Side B:

1.    Buckskin Stallion Blues

2.    Little Soundance # 2

3.    Still Lookin’ For You

4.    Gone, Gone Blues

5.    The Catfish Song

%d bloggers like this: