Early 80’s Metal Black ‘N Blue Song Previews New Collection ‘Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip’

A previously unreleased Black ‘N’ Blue song, “Give Em The Old 1, 2, 3,” offers a new preview of the early ‘80s Glam Metal collection, Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip. Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip features 21 songs, spread across 2LPs, with music critic and co-author of Louder Than Hell: The Definitive Oral History of Metal, Katherine Turman, providing the road map via a 144-page, full color book. Photos included come from the lens of Rock photographer Kevin Estrada. Estrada also serves as co-producer of the boxset.

Black ‘N Blue vocalist Jaime St. James comments on the track:

’Give Em The Old 1, 2, 3’ is the very first song written and recorded by Black ‘N Blue in 1981, explains vocalist Jaime St. James. “This is also the year I went from drummer to singer. I’m looking forward to the release of this awesome box set as The Numero Group have done a great job with gathering killer, almost lost music from back in the day with fantastic packaging. Enjoy!

Black ‘N Blue, originally from Portland, Oregon were influenced in part by the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, which lead the band to Los Angeles. In 1982, the band landed a slot on Brian Slagel’s inaugural Metal Massacre comp alongside other newbies including Metallica, Ratt and Bitch. Signed by Geffen A&R man, Jeff Kalodner, the band released four major label albums between 1984 and 1988. Gene Simmons produced the band’s 1985 album, Nasty Nasty, and guitar player Tommy Thayer went on to replace Ace Frehley in KISS.

Artists featured include Armored Saint, Black ‘N Blue and Lizzy Borden, alongside long lost tracks from Reddi Killowatt, Angeles, Max Havoc, SIN, and Romeo. Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip also pays particular attention to the female musicians who challenged the world of the Strip, with entries and recollections from Lisa Baker, Jaded Lady, Leather Angel, Hellion, and Bitch.

Pre-orders and digital pre-saves, for both Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip box set (2LPs and the accompanying book), as well as the Sheer Savage edition featuring a CD wallet with 12-panel, double-sided poster, without the book, and the streaming edition are available now. There will also be an exclusive Poser Proof Die Hard color vinyl edition of the LP-based set, limited to 500 copies, which will include a bonus cassette featuring five additional tracks from Black ‘N Blue, Lisa Baker, Stormer, Odin and Leather Angel.

Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip tracklist:

Side A

1.   Stormer – Going To The City *

2.   L.A. Rocks – Cocaine

3.   Max Havoc – Bound For Hell

4.   Jaded Lady – Rock N Roll Ain’t Pretty *

5.   Steeler – Ready To Explode

6.   Lizzy Borden – No Time To Lose

Side B

1.   SIN – On The Run *

2.   Black ‘N Blue – Give Em The Old 1, 2, 3 *

3.   Bitch – Damnation Alley

4.   Romeo – Feelin To Rock

5.   V.V.S.I. – Savage Kind of Girl *

Side C

1.   Hellion – Up From The Depths

2.   Angeles – Blade Of Steel

3.   Knightmare II – Cold Reception

4.   Witch – Cinderella (In Black Leather)

5.   Reddi Killowatt – Liquid Lady

Side D

1.   Armored Saint – Lesson Well Learned

2.   Leather Angel – We Came To Kill

3.   Rough Cutt – Take It Or Leave It *

4.   Lisa Baker – Fool Of Lies

5.   Odin – Judgement Day

Bonus Cassette

1.   Black ‘N Blue – Rules Were Made To Be Broken *

2.   Lisa Baker – Every Girl’s Got A Fantasy

3.   Stormer – Driving *

4.   Odin – Midnight Flight

5.   Leather Angel – Need Your Love

*-previously unreleased

%d bloggers like this: