RidingEasy Records Spotlights White Lightning’s Career With ‘Thunderbolts Of Fuzz’ Release

One of the favorites of RidingEasy Records‘ Brown Acid compilation series, White Lightning has a full discography of rare and under-appreciated Heavy Psych, Proto-Metal Rock and that’s going to get a revival from the label. Thunderbolts of Fuzz will be available on LP, CD and download on July 22nd, 2022 via RidingEasy Records. The single “Born Too Rich” is currently available.

White Lightning was formed in Minneapolis, MN in 1968 by guitarist Tom “Zippy” Caplan and bassist Woody Woodrich after leaving garage psych band The Litter (who are also popular standouts from the Nuggets and Pebbles series of garage rock rarities.) Originally a power trio, the band later expanded to a 5-piece in 1969 while shortening its name to Lightning. The quintet‘s rare 1970 self-titled album on Pickwick International‘s P.I.P. imprint provides 6 of the 10 tracks on Thunderbolts of Fuzz.

The original White Lightning trio only released one 45-rpm single “Of Paupers and Poets” during their existence (on local Hexagon label in 1968, later reissued by major label ATCO Records in 1969.) A long out-of-print posthumous album released in 1995 gathered unreleased recordings, 3 of which are found here. This rounds out this collection of recorded highlights from the band‘s rocky history.

Drummer/lead vocalist Mick Stanhope later relinquished his drum throne to take center stage as lead singer of an expanded lineup. Throughout its initial 1968-1974 run, the band had 10 different lineups, with Caplan, Woodrich and Stanhope the most consistent members, though the band points out that no one member has played in all 11 incarnations of the group. For more facts and information visit thelitter-lightning.com.


  1. Prelude to Opus IV
  2. Hideaway
  3. Born Too Rich
  4. When A Man Could Be Free
  5. 1930
  6. Borrowed and Blue 0
  7. They‘ve Got The Time
  8. Riders In The Sky
  9. Fantasy Days
  10. Before My Time
%d bloggers like this: