The London Suede’s ‘Autofiction’ Is A Punk Record That Reveals “Primal Mess”

[Cover photo credit to Dean Chalkley]

The London Suede have announced their ninth studio album, Autofiction, for release on September 16, 2022 via BMG. Autofiction was recorded live at Konk studios in North London with long-time The London Suede collaborator, Ed Buller. Ed first worked with the band producing their debut single “The Drowners”, which sees its 30th anniversary this month.

Speaking about Autofiction, Brett Anderson says:

Autofiction is our punk record. No whistles and bells. Just the five of us in a room with all the glitches and fuck-ups revealed; the band themselves exposed in all their primal mess. Autofiction has a natural freshness, it’s where we want to be.

First single “She Still Leads Me” was written from Brett Anderson to his late mother and the album title, Autofiction suggests that it is one of Anderson’s most personal records yet.

Autofiction Tracklisting

  1. She Still Leads Me On
  2. Personality Disorder
  3. 15 Again
  4. The Only Way I Can Love You
  5. That Boy on the Stage
  6. Drive Myself Home
  7. Black Ice
  8. Shadow Self
  9. It’s Always the Quiet Ones
  10. What am I Without You?
  11. Turn off Your Brain and Yell
%d bloggers like this: