Australian Pop-Punks Waxflower Bring Us Anthems For The Over-Thinker On ‘The Sound Of What Went Wrong’ EP

Off the back of their extensive Australian tour alongside Trophy Eyes, Brisbane Pop-Punk outfit Waxflower have released their sophomore EP The Sound Of What Went Wrong, out now via Rude Records.

Waxflower’s new EP is what lead singer Tristan Higginson describes as:

…five anthems for the over-thinker. The EP a brain writes at 2 AM when it can’t sleep – picking apart every awkward moment and wrong turn, all while wondering what could have been.

Higginson elaborates:

The last few years have given us more time in our heads than we may have liked. Self-doubt, self-hatred, missed connections, crutches, medication. All the fun stuff is here, wrapped up in songs that capture both the poppiest and heaviest sides of Waxflower to date. I hope people can find something to relate to throughout its runtime.

The EP was recorded over two weeks in Sydney with producer and frequent collaborator Stevie Knight (Stand Atlantic / Yours Truly / Between You & Me).

Though Waxflower only formed in 2020, they have played sold-out shows across Australia, signed with Australian booking agency Select Music, performed alongside Simple Plan, The Maine, Stand Atlantic, and The Dangerous Summer and, finally, signed with European label Rude Records (Saves The Day, Less Than Jake, The Maine).

%d bloggers like this: